Thursday, October 27, 2005 Apprentice NBC This week featured the best boardroom ever!! Seven useless people were given the assignment to sell more sporting goods on a percentage basis over the same day of sales last year. The goal was to make an interactive event to draw families into a Dick's Sporting Goods store were the teams would then sell items, lots of items, high priced products, as many as possible, to the crowds attracted by the event. Both teams worked wonders bringing in people into the stores. Kids were standing for turns to play on the golf greens and the batters cage set up by the two teams. I only saw one team work the parents to sell, sell, sell. The other team worked the batting cage, and not selling the items. To make a long story longer, the team with the batting cage lost. I didn't see one person who deserved to go back to the suite. Mr. Trump however managed to find 3 that at least did sell something. Because this is a long interview program he needs these 3 folks to fire another week. Next, he fired all 4 of the remaining people on the team. It was great. This could be the best season of the Apprentice so far. The tasks are harder, the candidates are more stupid, and Carolyn is stepping it up in her role. Now, I know I don't stand a chance in heck on this show. I'd be one of the first people fired because I don't have the schooling or the experience to even make it far. This week was the best boardroom ever. I just hope it's not the last great boardroom I see for this program. All 4 of you, your fired.... Go home WEIRD_1
Thursday, October 27, 2005 Survivor Again CBS I think that Survivor should use the "Trust No One" rule that is no longer being used by the X-Files. This week, we see Amy, one of the few people I like this season on Survivor, working to get Bobby John voted off the Island. At first the editing makes me think that Amy may just pull it off. The camera shows many tribe members talking about how Bobby John had his chance and hasn't earned the right to be a member of the Jury. This is the last time he can be voted off and not be part of the Jury, so I, as a viewer am starting to believe that Amy may be saved from the vote this week. And I fall for it once again... Amy got every vote but her own. Now, I'm not sure, but I think there is a rule that states you can't vote for yourself. Otherwise, Amy may have even got her own vote. That is how much this show yanked my chain this week. Thing is this is not the first time this has happened to me, and not with just this show. I must be some sort of fool. I get set up all the time. I must love it because I keep coming back for more. Amy, I wanted you to win, because of me, you are now resting your bad ankle and eating better, and your bank account will not be bigger, all because of me. I have that sort of bad luck on people. Maybe I'll start wanting Judd to win, just so he will get the boot off the Island. On second thought, I better not. With my luck he would then win because I was using this reverse logic. Trust No One WEIRD_1
October 25, 2005Burger King AdsEvery Damn Channel I WatchDoes anyone else remember the Puttermans? The plastic family that hawked Duracell Batterieswas everyplace. They gave me the willies. The Puttermans made my skin crawl, teeth ache, andmade me toss my lunch down the toilet. As much fun as that was, I had a private party the day the ads stopped running.Now I get the same feeling everytime I see the spooky "Burger King Guy" shows up. He shows up in the woods behind trees, in the bathroom mirror, in the bedroom next to some guy. Did Burger King hire the same ad agency? Is Madison Avenue out of ideas? Does Burger King think I'm going to buy more Whoppers because I see this plastic face, stiff walking, speech free, stalker?Does anyone lile this ad?Is the Burger King gay (not that there's anything wrong with that)?This is not the first time I see ads from one company used by other places. Subway and Olive Garden have both used the "I'll have my usual" tag line, so I'm not all to shocked to see the Putterman concept coming back.I say if you are going to creativly borrow from another ad, you should place them in at least one of the new ads. So, when do I see the Puttermans pull into a drive-in and order some food witha side of batteries? That I would find funny. I don't know if it would make me stop at Burger King, but I know that the ad would be funny.I do know that I'll buy more Whoopers if the King would go to the Advertising Icon Retirement Home and keep the Puttermans and any other ad like them from showing up between any program..... EVER!!!!Do you want fries with that?WEIRD_1
Monday, October 24, 2005Mind of MenciaComedy CentralNot since George Carlin has someone been both so right and so funny all at the same time. Carlos Mencia makes me think as the milk is shooting out of my nose. He is an equal opportunity offender. As a white male, I have often been ashamed of what people like me have done just during my lifetime. I will add that I don't agree with or was ever part of any of shameful things I read about in history class, but I sure can laugh about them. Unlike some of the people that e-mail him, I can take a joke. Carlos drives home the humor he sees in everyday life. It don't matter if it's a sign found along the highway in California or news reports, Carlos makes me laugh.The "De-de-de" of the week, and the award program he put on was as funny and fresh as George Carlin's 7 words bit, and you can play it on the air. If you are so proud of who you are and where you come from, you will be offended at some point, so if this bothers you watch something else.If you have a chance, watch this show. The world needs cutting edge comics like Carlos Mencia.He understands what free speach is and how to use it to make a point. Dave Chappelle was great and did shows alot like Carlos Mencia, Chappelle burned out and stopped making shows. I hope this don't happen to Carlos Mencia because I'd like to see his show for years to come.Could this show be any funnier.... Sure. Just like anything this show has room for growth, thing is I bet Carlos is better at fixing them than I am.Do I forgive Comedy Central for getting rid of Mystery Science Theater 3000... Not really, but life goes on and so should humor. Shows like this is why I pay extra for Dish Network, and it is worth every cent for it too!Now when Drawn Together starts its second season I'll have reason to tune in once more.If you ain't laughing, you ain't livingWEIRD_1
Sunday, October 23, 2005Food NetworkIron ChefThe new Iron Chef America on the Food Network is fun to watch. I like to see how serious the chefs are during this circus like event. I became a fan of this show watching the original Iron Chef battles. Half the fun of the origianl was watching all the sub plots unfold. Will the challanger bring along an entourage, will his wife and kids be in the visitors box, will the mystey ingredient be alive. will it be some sort of ingredient I had never heard of before. Who made those colorful outfits worn by the Iron Chefs. These were all questions I'd ask every time this show aired. I am so glad that it is back in production.I never watch either of the Iron Chef shows on the Food Network for ideas on how to cook supper, I watch for entertainment, and maybe the drinking game. I love the colorful and over the top outfits that Chairman Kaga brings to the party.Masaharu Morimoto had always been my favorite Iron Chef so it is good to see he can make time away from his resturant to film the Iron Chef America battles. I wonder if his parents ever told him not to play with his food, because he sure likes to play with it now.I think that Mario Batali is fun to watch. He always seems so happy to just be a part of this show. How fun to see someone with so much talent that is also so humble. I still like Morimoto best, but Mario is my new second favorite. The spirt of the original Iron Chef is still in the new battles and all the new Iron Chefs take the battles with a flair and comfidence that reminds me of the original battles still showing on Food Network.I like Alton Brown, and watch his "Good Eats" show whenever possible, but I think he may need to watch some of the original battles. During one battle, he said he didn't recall an ice cream machine on the original Iron Chef. No disrespect to Alton, but lots of battles on the original Iron Chef used an Ice Cream maker. I'll never have his knowledge of science and how food works, he is a good pick for that job.Cat Cora is the first Female Iron Chef to be ever featured on any Iron Chef show and along with Bobby Flay adds a youth and playful take on the way Americans can take food from anyplace and make it our own. All part of the great melting pot and the joy of this show.So, download the drinking game and join me as I find entertainment in playing with food.One drink if the guest chef is femaleTwo drinks if the guest chef is a teamA shot of Rum if the guest chef used to have a show on the Food NetworkMaybe I just like the drinking partAllez CuisineWEIRD_1
Friday, October 21, 2005CBSNumb3rsI think Barbie was right when she said "Math is Hard". If this show continues to beas popular as it is, this will be the first show with brains to stay on the air more than 3 seasons. (Hope I didn't jinx it by saying that).In the first season, Sabrina Lloyd was the reason I started to watch, I have liked her work inSliders, and Sports Night so I knew I'd like her in this show. As for Rob Morrow, I keep thinkinghe should be tending the medical needs in Alaska. His work in Northern Exposure was great and in my mind, that is the role I'll always see him in, sort of like I can't see Adam West as anything other than Batman ( in my view, the best Batman yet.. Even in the movies).I have learned lots of things from this show, things like this:David Krumholtz should get a PhD in math just from the math he writes on the chalkboardevery week.Judd Hirsch don't drive a "Taxi" any more.I really need to take some basic math classes.I like strong, smart woman characters on my drama'sI don't like the woman that took Sabrina Lloyd's role, she talks with a lisp, and I can't understand what she is saying half the time.I can't help but wonder how any case in any other police force gets solved without Charlie Epps as a consultant. Does every police force, in every town need a math genius to solve crimes, because if they do, I have about 20 math smart "Geek or Nerd" types that are looking for work.All I know is I'm never going to try to get away with any crime, because with my luck, my case will get assigned to Columbo, who will hire Charlie Epps, and take on Monk as an assistant in the case... I'd confess before they stopped reading me my rights.I think I'm going on over to EBAY to see if I can find some Math books and maybe a slide rule so I can brush up on my math. I think I need to be ready, just in case.
WEIRD_1
Thursday, October 20, 2005NBCApprenticeHere is another show I have watched since Bill Rancic won the first season. Watching the Apprentice is like watching a car wreck, I know someone is going to get hurt, but no matter how hard I try, I can't look away.This cast is great, because I want them all but Randall to lose, and so far every week, new people step up to be this weeks loser. This week, I think Jennifer M is this person. She is not the first to win this honor, nor will she be the last. She takes this award by leaving her team to get a red carpet for the presentation of a float only a few minutes before the time was up for the team. Great planning, and when I watched the team present the float, I don't recall seeing a carpet of any color. True, Trump was wearing a rug, but I don't think that counts.I laughed so hard when Jennifer M could not even say the name Zathura right, even after the teams were told how important it was to get it right. This season is going to be a multi-car pile-up with lots of hair pulling, back stabbing, and blood lust. Usually I need to go to a family event for this kind of fun and adventure. Now I can have the same amount of fun, without the travel, and I don't need to use roadside rest areas. So from where I set it is a win-win.So, my vote goes to Randall to be the next Apperntice.If he is fired by the Donald, I want Robin, the hot woman at the desk to get the job.But if my luck hold, Jennifer M will win and I'll have to eat this entire BLOG.I better stock up on Ketchup.Your Fired
WEIRD_1
Thursday, October 20, 2005CBSSurvivorI have been a fan of Survivor since I first saw Richard Hatch walk nude during the first season.I still think Susan's "Rat's and Snake's" was the best thing to happen to date on this show. I did like the Johnny Fairplay "My GrandMa's dead" bit, at least it was original.This season on Survivor has some new challenges for the cast, and I do like some of the twists I have seen so far. I will admit that Survivor is my favorite reality show, if I had to go on a reality show or die, I'd choose Survivor. That said, I don't want to be in this group because Jeff Probst can't take enough joy in telling them how hot it is.In this episode, we see the cast playing a live action game of table top bowlingwith an 8 foot ball and the players are the pins. Amy twisted her ankle again, Jamie and Bobby John acted like a pair of silverback gorillas, and in the end, both tribes have to go to tribal council.I pity both Stephanie and Bobby John, these two people went from one Survivor cast to the nextwithout much rest. I thought Rupert was nuts to do it and these two are just as nuts.... That'swhy I like them. I'm nuts too!Judd is a pain and too full of himself.Every female cast member but Stephanie and Amy needs to go home NOW!Gary, I like, but the fact that he is hiding the fact he was an NFL quarterback could come back to haunt him. Nobody else is standing out as a good player right now, those people are the dangerous playersflying under the RADAR while the players making the most noise get voted out.I want Stephnie to win, so just by saying that, I placed a curse on her and she now stands evenless of a shot than she did before I wrote this. The Tribe Has SpokenWEIRD_1
Wednesday, October 19, 2005ABC LOSTI only started watching LOST during the summer reruns (summer 2005) so I'm a little late to the LOST bandwagon. This said, this show is a mix of Twin Peaks, Twilight zone, Jurassic Park, Jerry Springer, Love Connection, and WWE wrestling with X-Files lighting.
I have over 10 million questions about the plot of this show. I'll skip them for now to ask the big questions.Is it just me or would this show be better with a backwards talking dwarf telling me that the owls are not what they seem, (just ask Harry Potter)?
I can't help but think this show is a bad episode of "Fantasy Island" and Locke paid Mr. Roarke a ton of money for this fantasy.
What is in the trees?Did Gilligan find a way to join the "Others"?Is it the next Survivor cast doing a reward challenge?Or is it the Girls Gone Wild crew following the blistering hot babes on this show?Where are They?Lost on an island?Lost in Limbo?Lost on a painted sky, on a moonlight night?In a comic book?In a show that has me watching something that looks like a new show while stillreminding me of lots of things I have seen before?Time alone has the answers. I hope the show don't get kicked off the air before I find out.
I like shows like LOST. Mostly because they are different, fun to watch, and make me think.
Usually when I like a show it gets cut from the line-up. I hope this don't happen to soon because I still have those 10 million questions, and it would be nice to have some of them answered. Then again, like it says on the Mystery Science Theater 3000 theme song.
It's only a show, I should really just relax.
But I swear, If Laura Palmer and Bobby Ewing are found in the shower in the bunker
I'm going to break my foot of in someone's behind.
4, 8, 15, 16, 23, 42 ... Hike
WEIRD_1
Wednesday, October 19, 2005
CBS
The Amazing Race Family Edition
I have to wonder why the teams needed to stop at "The world's largest office chair". What is the challenge here? Did the teams need to measure a bunch of chairs to find the largest one or locate it in a field of other large things like the world's largest kitchen chair and lawn chair? Nope, all the teams had to do was find a huge chair in a town and climb to the top. Not such a big task. It was nice to see the Gaghan girl take on the chair like it was a playground toy. I must admit I like this team. I have not heard one complaint from either of the children on this team. I wish I could say the same from some of the adult teams.
Did the Weever mom ever take geography class? When I went to school the five Great Lakes were Huron, Ontario, Michigan, Erie, and Superior all located in the upper mid-west of the United Sates not in southern Louisiana. Obviously not, because while driving over Lake Pontchartain, she told her children it was one of the Great Lakes. Did I miss that class?
One thing I really love on reality shows is when a team claims to have some advantage over the other teams because they know the area, or better yet actually live in that area. Enter the Schroeder family. I could smell the over confidence in this team as they drove into New Orleans, there home town. How funny it was to me then when they were last to cross the mat.
I really like the Gaghan family. I would love to see them win. It will be interesting to see if the children in this family can outpace the adults. The thing is that the finish on this show often comes down to a foot race. I wonder if the spunk in these kids is enough to get them past teams with longer legs.
I'm sorry to tell you that you have been Philiminated
WEIRD_1