Friday, February 03, 2006

Survivor Exile Island

Friday, February 03, 2006
Thursday
CBS

Right from the start I like season 12 of Survivor. I have people to hate like Cirie and people I think will win like Tina, Dan and Terry. I have cute women to enjoy like Danielle and Melinda. Survivor brings some big changes of its own this season.

First there is Exile Island, a small spot of land away from the rest of the Survivor team where one person a episode will be stranded alone to fend for themselves. What will they miss as the remaining team members plot, plan, and outplay the loner left in this place? Jeff Probst does provide a silver lining to being alone on Hell’s Island. Someplace on this small bit of Real Estate is an idol that will guarantee immunity to the person that finds it right up to the final 4. The idol can be held until after the vote at tribal council so this would make the second vote getter put out a torch.

Way cool.
Enough set up now the juicy parts. Even before Cirie got off the boat I didn’t like her. Maybe it was her attitude, the way she moved or the way she let everyone else go first to the place mats on Exile Island. Cirie made every mistake a Survivor could make, she told the rest of the Older Women Tribe that she was scared of leaves and the things that may live under them. Later at Tribal Council Cirie told the rest of her tribe that see don’t like nature much and made a plea for the “Couch Potato’s” to stay home. She made a great move and made the rest of the Older Women vote off Tina, the lumberJill from Wisconsin. Tina started fire, found water, and found a fish. Maybe the old formula to win this game is broken.

That means that the person I hate is still on the island (and with my luck will win the million) and one of the people I like is gone. God, I love this game.

Misty was the first person to spend the night on Exile Island. Jeff Probst was a cross between the Riddler and the Joker from the old Batman TV series and told Missy “as for your clue, I already gave it to you.” WHAT THE HECK? I have no idea what he was trying to tell her, but I’m sure it had nothing to do with digging in the dirt behind them.
My first though was that it had something to do with the “Smashing Skulls” challenge that Missy’s team lost. Were all the skulls smashed? Was the idol hidden in one of them? Does the idol stay in the same place or is it someplace new for every Survivor?

All I know is the lame attempt at trying to convince the rest of the cast that she found the idol shouldn’t stop anyone from looking. Misty makes Judd look like a great liar.

I hope at some point Survivor does a special like with the Super Stars only with the people that were the first or second to get voted off. I think Tina could be the female Rudy if given half a chance.

A special note about Richard Hatch:
I am sad but not surprised that Richard was found guilty on Tax charges.
Richard was stubborn and full of bravado.
These skills were what helped him win the first Survivor, making him the Survivor we love to hate.
It was these same skills that lead to his troubles with the IRS.
It is sad that something couldn’t have been worked out.

The game of Survivor will not be the same without Richard

Now if we could get Survivor for Children
Gary Coleman could host
Or hire me... I’d love to be even a small part of this show.

Snuff my torch

WEIRD_1

24

Monday Night
Fox Network

Welcome to another action packed season of the hit drama 24.

When last we saw Jack he had faked his own death in order to save the United States from lots of issues with the Government of China. What else can Jack endure? In the past Jack has been tortured, been a drug addict, and really died only to be recovered at the last second. His wife was raped and killed.

It’s not good to be friends with Jack either. Tony’s wife Michelle is killed and Tony is in the ICU. Former President Palmer is killed and Jack is framed for the shooting. So where has Jack been hiding since last we saw him? He has been shacking up with Diane at her place and working on oil rigs. Jack is one tough fella. Diane has a nosy, moody son named Derek. Derek follows Jack because he thinks Jack is lying to his mother. Derek is rewarded by being held hostage by terrorists at the airport. This is how day 5 starts for Jack.

Over the next few hours we discover that the Russian Terrorists are really after some Nerve Gas. I think this is just a diversion designed to take up CTU’s time while working on something else. Why? Because they found out about it to fast. It was too easy.

One thing that I find is getting old is using a mole inside either CTU or the White House.
This season we find a mole inside both places, and you know what, I knew it the first time I saw them. I knew the oily man Spenser Wolff that Chloe woke up with was a bad man as soon as I saw him. The same is true of Walt Cummings the Chief of Staff for limp lipped President Logan who is the reason Jack had to fake his own death in the first place.

I never liked Audrey, she wants Jack to conform. Audrey is uncomfortable with Jack doing the things Jack needs to do to get things done. True, Jack did order doctors to stop trying to save her ex-husband Paul in order to save a terrorist to get information that lead to the final resolution of Day 4, but Paul was a creep that needed killing anyway. Today, Audrey feels the need to call Jack while he is out trying to track down Nerve Gas to ask Jack if it is true that he still loves hes..

Jack listen up....

Ditch Audrey and go home with Diane. Diane can accept the man you are, and what you need to do. Audrey never will understand. Besides, Diane is a lot hotter.

So what will happen this season?
Who the hell knows, but that’s the fun with 24.
Is the Nerve Gas a diversion?
Could the Nerve Gas end up at the White House and kill President Logan... I’d like to see that.
When will Chloe shoot Edgar?
When will CTU start to do better background checks on agents?
Is the person behind chair his daughter Kim?
These and thousands of more questions will be asked and in true 24 style, only about half will get answered.

I will be there for every blasted second because unlike some other shows, I care what happens to Jack. The rest of the cast is cannon fodder.

And what about Scarecrow’s brain?

WEIRD_1